This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Queens University of Charlotte




 

Policies Refresh 2016: Circulation

Faculty and Student Borrowing Privileges

Faculty
Faculty may check out an unlimited number of books or visual media (DVDs) for the duration of each term. ALL MATERIALS MUST BE RETURNED OR RENEWED AT THE END OF EACH TERM. All materials are subject to recall if needed by a student or another faculty member.  Materials in the Browsing Collection are high demand items. They circulate for four weeks and may be renewed if there are no requests for them. The term length period does not apply to this collection.  Books, visual media, and browsing collection items may be renewed three times.

Faculty may check out reference books, back issues of periodicals, and other non-circulating materials under special circumstances. If it is necessary to check out these materials, they should be returned within 24 hours so that they will be available for others to use. The library staff may deny a faculty member's request to borrow these materials if they feel other patrons need the items.  Materials from Special Collections are non-circulating.

Faculty members are not fined for overdue materials, including Browsing Collection titles. However, faculty members will receive notices telling them what materials are overdue, and they are expected to pay the cost of lost or damaged items.  Faculty members have access to all the services of the Library.  Retired faculty retain the same borrowing privileges as the active faculty.
Staff and Administrators
Full time staff and administrators of the university may check out books and browsing materials for 28 days with two renewals, and visual media (DVDs) may be check out for four days.  Work/study students and student interns employed in university offices have student checkout privileges. 

Students
Students may check out library materials with a maximum of 10 items for four weeks. These materials may be renewed for an additional four weeks if there are no requests for them. Visual media (DVDs) are checked out for a period of four days.  Materials are subject to recall if they are needed.  The ID card issued by the university serves as the student's library card and this card is necessary for any student to check out items from the library.

Students are charged fines for overdue materials at the rate of $0.50 per day, up to a limit of $20 per book. Fines accrue only when the university is in session.  All student fines are sent to the Business Office at the end of each month and added to the student’s bill.  Students are responsible for the cost of lost or damaged materials. Materials not returned within one month of the due date are considered lost. Replacement costs will be billed through the Business Office. 

Students may not check out periodicals, reference books, or materials Special Collections. These materials are for use in the Library only. Exceptions to this policy can be made at the discretion of the University Librarian.  Students have access to all the services of the Library.

Community Borrowing Privileges

Friends of Everett Library

Friends of the Library (FOL) members are issued a library card on request, which is good for one year (except for Rena Harrell Society members, who are lifetime members). This card must be presented to check out materials, and it cannot be used by anyone other than the person or persons to whom it was issued. Couples receive a single card, unless individual cards are requested.  Membership is open to anyone who is 18 years of age or older.

FOL members may check out up to five items at a time for four weeks. These books may be renewed for an additional four weeks if there are no other requests for them.  FOL members may ask that books from the collection be reserved for them.

Fines are charged on overdue materials at the rate of $.50 per day, up to a limit of $20 per book. Fines are charged only when the library is open; no fines accrue on days when the library is closed.  FOL members are responsible for the cost of lost or damaged materials. Materials not returned within one month of the due date are considered lost. FOL members will be billed for the replacement cost of the book.

Friends may not check out periodicals, reference books, and materials from Special Collections. These materials are for use in the Library only.  FOL members do not have access to Interlibrary loans, online database searches, or other services.

Trustees

Members of the university's Board of Trustees receive the same borrowing privileges as faculty.

Lost and Damaged Materials

Lost Materials
Items which are one month overdue or which are reported lost by a patron are considered lost, and the patron is responsible for a $100 fee which covers replacement cost of the item and a processing fee. Student accounts will be billed for the $100 fee through the Business Office. FOL members and other guest borrowers will be billed by the library and may not check out additional materials until lost book charges have been cleared. Faculty members are also responsible for lost materials charges.  The replacement cost of any lost library materials will be billed as noted above.


Damaged Materials
From time to time, books are damaged while they are in the hands of library borrowers. When this happens, the patron will be charged the cost of repairing the item, or for the replacement cost if it cannot be repaired. These costs are handled as lost materials charges.

Materials checked out from the Library are the responsibility of the person in whose name they were checked out. There are no exceptions to this policy.