This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Queens University of Charlotte




 

Special Collections: Queens University of Charlotte Archives

The Archives

Page one of the Gutenberg Bible facsimile located in the Special Collections Room.

During its long history, Queens  has collected a vast array of objects and ephemera  which offers the student of history a window to an earlier  time.  These items are listed with a brief description of the contents, and referenced by box number in the accompanying finding aid in Microsoft Excel. Click on the image link above for a searchable  list of these items. ​Note: the finding aids are currently being updated and will be reposted at a later date. For any questions, please contact the Archivist.

 

Queens History

A complete history of Queens was first penned by Rena C. Harrell, Queens librarian and an avid local historian.This work was later updated and condensed by Mildred Morse McEwen, professor of chemistry at Queens for its publication in 1980. Queens College Yesterday and Today has been digitized and is available for download through the book cover link above right. This book provides a valuable resource for those interested in Charlotte history and the evolution of Queens from a women's college to a modern comprehensive university.

Queens History and Preservation


Charlotte Female Institute, a predecessor to Queens, as it appeared from 1857 to 1891.

Everett Library is dedicated to preserving the history and heritage of Queens in the Myer’s Park area and the surrounding city of Charlotte. While Queens has broadened its focus from the education of young women to become a modern comprehensive university; it has always been a center for intellectual and cultural life in Charlotte.   The Queens Digital Archive offers images, documents, correspondence, and a host of other items that are now shared online and chronicle this rich history. You may access any of these collections by clicking on the links below.  

 Please email oconnorh@queens.edu or carterrk@queens.edu to view the following:

  • Accounts of college presidential inaugurations
  • Trustee reports
  • Memorabilia, trophies, apparel
  • Departmental records, programs and publications
  • College catalogs
  • School newspapers
  • Student scrapbooks
  • Records of early student organizations
  • Student handbooks
  • Photographs of students participating in campus life

FEATURED COLLECTIONS

Dr. Charles HadleyFine Arts: This collection of 31 high resolution archival images shows the great diversity in Queens devotion to the arts. Images of the Terpsichorians (the dance club of Queens), performing modern dance in elysian fields, the Queens Women's Choir world tour of 1968, abstract mural painting in 1954, stage productions, and Indian dance showcase the contribution of the arts curriculum to the Charlotte area and the Queens community.
Browse to see a record of this rich history.

Dr Charles Hadley, professor emeritus of Queens, is pictured on the right, as he considered costumes for a Queens production. Click on his image to access the Fine Arts collection.