This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Queens University of Charlotte




 

Special Collections: Digital Archival Collections

Archive Collections

Michael Mauney. Noted Charlotte Observer photographer has donated his collection of images taken of life at Queens. Mr.Mauney produced the View Book, which depicted life at Queens in the 1960's and forms the basis for this collection.The 45 archival images show both life on campus and portraits of Queens students. Above, students and beloved Dean Ann S. Gebhardt rendezvous at Diana's Lair, the preeminent hangout on Queens campus circa 1965.

Follow this link to view the collection
The Michael Mauney Collection

 

The Burwells founded the Charlotte Female institute after their successful school for young women in Hillsborough, NC which stands preserved as a national historic site. There were three founders of Queens and two of them are pictured in the triptych above. The somber Reverend Robert Burwell, the Reverend William J Atkinson and Margaret Anna Robertson Burwell, wife to Robert, studying her bible. The Reverend Atkinson succeeded the Burwells in 1878. See this collection of 25 images of objects, documents, telegrams, booklets that chronicle the history of Queens since 1857

Follow this link to the collection:
Queens College Timeline

Digital Collections

Everett Library is committed to preserving the items entrusted to our care, and to sharing them with our community both locally and online. To this end, we have created a digital repository that enables anyone to browse collections of images in specific subject areas related to Queens and the community. Here you can see a timeline of Queens history with objects, view photographs specific to different periods in the history of Queens, and special projects created by Queens faculty that speak to some historic aspect of Queens.

We invite you to browse these collection by clicking on the appropriate image links or text links in the description of the collection.