This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
Queens University of Charlotte




 

Special Collections: Special Collections Room

Images from Special Collections


Students viewing objects from the Archives for a class project


Students tour the Special Collections Room

Special Collections Room - Ms. Rena Chambers Harrell Collection

On March 6, 1978, Dr. Norris Preyer, Emeritus Professor of Queens University of Charlotte, proposed a plan for the acquisition and development of the Special Collections Room in Everett Library.  Dr. Preyer wrote:

Items acquired for this room should be centered around a few common themes to give coherence and unity to the collection. The three themes selected seek to meet four objectives:

  1. to build upon already existing strengths in the Everett Library collection,
  2. to relate to the special history and culture of Queens College (now Queens University of Charlotte),
  3. to be useful for research by Friends of the Library, Alumnae of the college, college students and scholars,
  4. to serve as a possible training area for development of archival and library science skills and perhaps, also for skills needed in design, museum, and historic preservation careers.

The three themes are: The Queens College Collection, The Local History Collection, and The Art of the Book-Maker.

The Special Collections Room is named in honor of Rena Chambers Harrell, librarian of Everett Library from 1927 - 1957, and holds materials related to the history of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, books by North Carolina and southern authors, as well as rare and distinctive books and materials.  Included in the mission of collecting books that show the "art of the book maker," facsimile reproductions of the Gutenberg Bible and Book of Hours as well as an original Fore-Edge Book are displayed.  The collection is available to patrons by requesting an appointment with the Archivist.

The Special Collections Room is located on the 2nd floor of the library and is open during regular library hours to students and faculty for individual (non-group) study. It is a quiet study zone and is food and cell phone free.