Assistive Tech - Read&Write & OrbitNote

Read&Write is a digital tool designed to support reading, writing, and studying by offering a range of helpful features. It includes text-to-speech, which reads text aloud to users, and speech-to-text, which converts spoken words into written text. The tool also provides word prediction, helping users write more efficiently by suggesting words as they type. It includes a translation feature for converting text into different languages and a picture dictionary to visually explain words. Read&Write also offers highlighting, note-taking, and screen masking to help users stay organized and focused. It allows users to quickly look up definitions, synonyms, and explanations using a fact finder. Additionally, it has a clipping tool to save and gather important text from websites or documents. Overall, Read&Write makes reading and writing tasks easier and more accessible for everyone.

OrbitNote is pretty much just Read&Write for PDFs.  

It allows users to annotate PDFs and other documents by adding highlights, notes, and voice recordings to help organize information. OrbitNote also provides a text-to-speech feature that reads aloud selected text, making it easier to understand and engage with written content. It includes a dictionary tool for looking up definitions and offers text translation to help with understanding in different languages. The tool can also convert handwritten notes to typed text, making it easier for users to work with physical documents. OrbitNote helps users manage documents more effectively, offering features like bookmarking and saving key sections for later review. It also supports collaboration by allowing users to share annotations and notes with others. Overall, OrbitNote enhances accessibility and interaction with digital content, making it easier to learn and engage with various materials.

Who Can Benefit from Read&Write Tools?

Read&Write tools are designed to support a wide range of individuals, helping to make reading, writing, and learning easier and more accessible. Here are some groups of people who can benefit from these features:

• Students with diverse learning needs: The text-to-speech and highlighting tools can support students by reading text aloud, making it easier to follow along and understand. Tools like screen masking, which reduces distractions, and speech-to-text, can help students stay focused and organized while working. Speech-to-text and word prediction tools can assist students who may find writing by hand or typing difficult, enabling them to express their thoughts more easily.
• English Language Learners (ELLs): The translation tool is particularly useful for students learning English as an additional language, helping them understand difficult words and phrases. The picture dictionary can help learners connect vocabulary with its meaning more clearly.
• Students needing extra support with writing: For students who struggle with writing or typing, the speech-to-text tool allows them to speak their ideas and have them converted into written text.
• Those with visual impairments: Individuals with vision impairments can use the text-to-speech feature to have written content read aloud to them, making it more accessible. The screen masking tool helps reduce distractions and highlights a smaller area of the screen, making it easier to focus on the text.
• Students wanting to Improve their executive functioning skills: Features like highlighting, note-taking, and fact-finder tools can help students stay organized and manage information more effectively.
• Faculty & Support Staff: Teachers can use Read&Write tools to create inclusive classrooms where all students have access to the support they need, regardless of their learning style. Teachers can use tools like text-to-speech, translation, and vocabulary support to ensure that all students have equal access to learning materials.
• Students with Time Constraints: These tools allow people to read and process information more quickly and efficiently, making it easier to gather and review key information.