World Languages

General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Full-text issues of scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, and general sciences. Some journals have coverage back to the 1600s.

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. Articles published in works listed in the directory are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

An online, refereed international e-journal that focuses on Latino Literary Production in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Latin American News Digest strives to provide readers with wide spectrum coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans. The value we add comes not just from presenting the highlights, but from recognizing patterns across countries, noting differences, following themes, aggregating and synthesizing.

Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner.

*** In order to access this database, please use the following login & password: ***
Login = q + Q-Card number (e.g. q123456)
Password: Your birth year (e.g. 1985)

First time users must create a Kanopy account before watching any films.

If you are asked to select your library select Charlotte Mecklenburg Library and then enter your Library Card Number (q + Q-Card number) and Library Card PIN/Password (Your birth year). Next click the "Add Library Card" button. When creating your account, enter your name, email address and select a NEW password. An email will be sent to you with a verification link.

Kanopy is an award-winning video streaming service providing access to more than 30,000 independent and documentary films. Videos can be streamed on your desktop computer, tablets, smartphones, and TV apps. You can view up to 6 films per month. Once you press play on a film, you have 3 days to view it as many times as you like without using another play credit. Play credits reset on the 1st of the month.

[Provided by Charlotte Mecklenburg Library]