Everett Library: COM: Research Proseminar: Find Statistics

Top Databases for Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. This contains the 2013 Edition to present.
Data-Axle (formerly Reference USA) This link opens in a new window
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents.
State Data Center This link opens in a new window
The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.

Top Social Policy Think Tanks

Global Go To Think Tank Report UPenn
Use this guide to find think tanks in your area of research. The report provides information on both US and international think tanks.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Brookings Institute
Brookings brings together more than 300 leading experts in government and academia from all over the world who provide the highest quality research, policy recommendations, and analysis on a full range of public policy issues.
Center for American Progress
The Center for American Progress is an independent nonpartisan policy institute that is dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans, through bold, progressive ideas, as well as strong leadership and concerted action. Our aim is not just to change the conversation, but to change the country.
RAND Corporation
Mission: To help improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis
Core Values: Quality and objectivity
The Heritage Foundation
The mission of The Heritage Foundation is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
We are a nonpartisan research and policy institute. We pursue federal and state policies designed both to reduce poverty and inequality and to restore fiscal responsibility in equitable and effective ways. We apply our deep expertise in budget and tax issues and in programs and policies that help low-income people, in order to help inform debates and achieve better policy outcomes.
Cato
The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization — a think tank — dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets, and peace. Its scholars and analysts conduct independent, nonpartisan research on a wide range of policy issues.
American Enterprise Institute
The American Enterprise Institute is a public policy think tank dedicated to defending human dignity, expanding human potential, and building a freer and safer world. The work of our scholars and staff advances ideas rooted in our belief in democracy, free enterprise, American strength and global leadership, solidarity with those at the periphery of our society, and a pluralistic, entrepreneurial culture.
Russell Sage Foundation RSF
The Russell Sage Foundation was established by Margaret Olivia Sage in 1907 for “the improvement of social and living conditions in the United States.” It dedicates itself to strengthening the methods, data, and theoretical core of the social sciences in order to better understand societal problems and develop informed responses.
Center for Economic and Policy Research CEPR
CEPR was established in 1999 to promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues of people's lives.
Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
The Joint Center's mission is to inform and illuminate the nation's major public policy debates through research, analysis, and information dissemination in order to improve the socioeconomic status of Black communities in the United States; expand their effective participation in the political and public policy arenas; and promote communication and relationships across racial and ethnic lines to strengthen the nation's pluralistic society.
Demos
We are a dynamic “think-and-do” tank that powers the movement for a just, inclusive, multiracial democracy.

Statistical Websites

U.S. Census Bureau- provides U.S. demographic and economic data, as well as population projections.

CensusScope- developed by the Social Science Data Analysis Network at the University of Michigan. CensusScope is a fun, easy-to-use tool for studying U.S. demographic trends.

American FactFinder- a division of the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides information regarding population, housing, economic and geographical data.

Bureau of Labor Statistics- provides accurate statistical data about the social and economic conditions of our Nation's workers.

National Center for Education Statistics- collects and analyzes data related to education.

Statistical Abstract of the United States- provides a comprehensive, statistical summary about social, political and economic organizations in the US.

National Center for Health Statistics- surveys and collects statistical data about our nations health.