Everett Library: HST 289: Concentration Camps: Internment

Archival Sources

War Relocation Authority online archives
The OAC is a website that provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California — including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (JARDA)
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Ansel Adams Photographic Collections (Manzanar)
Held by the Library of Congress, In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's most well-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese-Americans interned there during World War II. For the first time, digital scans of both Adams's original negatives and his photographic prints appear side by side allowing viewers to see Adams's darkroom technique, in particular, how he cropped his prints.
San Francisco Museum—Internment as told through Regional newspapers
The San Francisco News, for the first six months of 1942, carried almost daily reports of FBI and police sweeps, and the various proclamations, plans - and restrictions to civil liberties
Congressional Hearings
Senate Document, War Relocation Centers: Hearings Before a
Subcommittee of the Committee on Military Affairs, United States
Senate…, 1943, documenting hearings that occurred on January 20,
27, and 28, 1943. Papers of Dillon S. Myer.
Bancroft Library
University of California, Berkeley digital archive—debates on internment, families in the period, photos, manuscripts, etc
Redress Movement
Commission on Wartime Internment—testimony on the 1980s Redress Movement

Web Resources from Archives

Digital repositories have been created all across the world now, holding digital items to represent and preserve those physical items that may soon disappear. Every preservation media, (paper, film, physical object) has its natural life; the digital image may carry on forever

These items can now be shared and harvested from other digital collections to complete the picture of a time and place in history, an event, or the life of a community.