Everett Library: HST: Prohibition: Useful Library Databases- Secondary Sources

Library Electronic Resources

The library website at library.queens.edu is available to students on or off campus 24 hours a day. Off campus students will be asked to supply their Queens username and password to login when they are trying to use any of our resources. Any schedule maintenance of library databases that affect service will be posted on the library website

Databases

America: History and Life with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic reference covering the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more.
DigitalNC This link opens in a new window
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Provides links to over 1,100 free, full-text journals; many are peer-reviewed.
EbscoHOST This link opens in a new window
The main gateway to a conglomeration of EbscoHost databases and an excellent way to search multiple databases at once.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of twenty-eight online reference collections, all available in browse-able and searchable e-book format, with the following subject coverage:
· * Books & Literature
· * History & Biography
· * Philosophy & Religion
· * Science & Technology
HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) began with a vision for a national digital library that would be free and open to all. DPLA’s staff and board are committed to carrying this vision forward. Our core work includes bringing new collections and partners into DPLA, building our technology, and managing projects that further our mission through curation, education, and community building.
North American Women's Letter and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.